Review – Chanel Le Vernis Alchimie No. 591

Long time no post!  Sorry about that – it’s a very busy time of year at work and I always forget how draining the past/next couple of weeks are.  That, coupled with the damp grey days and early nights, are a recipe for misery, lol!

Anyway.   Chanel’s Alchime.  Part of its 2013 A/W Superstition collection, which I purchased along with Mysterious on the week of its release.  I’d not got around to using it until last week, mainly because I was too tired to devote the necessary brain power required for a focused, brush-free application.  (Foils and brush strokes are par for the course, and don’t bother me too much.  As long as they are straight.)

I finally got round to using this, and was looking forward to seeing its golden-olive tones on my tips.  I mean, what a fab colour.

Image

Isn’t it?

Nails1Except.

Not on my nails.

Nails3

On my nails it is green.  Definitely green.Nails4

It does something strange in the transition from bottle to nail.  And it is not simply the lighting.  This photo clearly shows the difference between the colour in the bottle and the colour on the nail.

So disappointing.

Now, on the plus side, it applied ok in two coats and wasn’t too brushy.  It chipped a bit easily (this mani here is four days old) but I find that with all frosts.  I think the metallic particles make it less flexible to knocks and stresses than creme glosses.

But it IS green (on me).

Would I repurchase?  No.  It’s green, ffs!*

Have you ever had a chameleon-esque polish, and was it for better or worse?

* – I like green polish.  When I have chosen green.  Not when I have chosen golden olive

Leave a Reply

